Aerial Cremation...question for a commercial pilot?

ILSstud

Hey everyone...my sister approached me with something and I wanted to see if it is doable. A good friend of her and my dad passed away last week and her husband would like to spread her ashes over the ocean from a plane. My sis approached me and asked if it is something I would be willing to do (I would be compensated for the operating costs, and I am a commercial pilot). I see services online for this kind of thing so I don't see why it would be a problem? Is there anything I need to know, aside from using a device to prevent the ashes from blowing into the cabin?

Thanks a lot...I really want to be there for this gentleman but I also want to make sure I am playing safe and legal.

I'm not sure if that would be legal. I just took my checkride and the examiner was explaining it to me. The way he said it was that if you're going and renting an aircraft and flying it as well, It looks like you're being paid to secure an aircraft as well as fly, So it wouldn't be considered private carriage. just my .02 I could be off though.

Then I wouldn't see any problem with it. I don't know if that counts as dropping an "object" from an airplane, but even that's ok so long as you take caution to avoid damage to things on the ground, forget the actual FAR.

What if I didn't accept any payment?

Technically flight time is considered compensation in the FAA's eyes in a lot of scenarios. Unfortunately I think it will likely be against a few regs to do this if it involves you renting the airplane. Also, I doubt you'll find many rentals that would be ok with you dropping ashes out of their airplanes. If it was your airplane or you were flying an individuals you could probably find a way to do this without breaking regs.

That's what I figured...I'll ask my FBO, sure they'll say no, but one of my friend's is chief instructor maybe that will help. Thanks for the quick replies guys!