Info on "New Pilots" entering the industry

Toonces

I know you can look at how many student pilot certificates were given out by the FAA, but that doesn't tell the whole story. I know there is a boatload of foreign students here in the U.S for training. I am sure their names will be taken into account on the list of student pilots. What I would like to know is if there has been a significant decline in the number of U.S students in the last few years. Any of you instructors and major pilot factories feel free to chime in with your take on the situation.

It would be nice if this "pilot shortage" would come to fruition. I am pretty skeptical it will however. I was thinking with the cost of training skyrocketing and credit tightening up, that it may be cutting down on the fresh meat.

Your thoughts please.

I was an instructor at ERAU in Daytona from August 06 to March 07 before I got into my present job. The summer of 06 was the first time since 9/11 that there was increase in students, aircraft, instructors. Before that period, the ramp had been getting smaller and smaller. I dont know what things are like now.

While I"m not sure the "pilot shortage" will ever come to fruition, I can say that the ramps at airports are getting quieter with respect to Americans learning to fly. You see very few people getting their PPL for fun, and many who are on a professional pilot training program are not American.

I can assure you that state of the economy, cost of fuel, tightening of credit, and poor (by many people's view) job market contribute to the lack of student pilot certificates issued.

While I"m not sure the "pilot shortage" will ever come to fruition, I can say that the ramps at airports are getting quieter with respect to Americans learning to fly. You see very few people getting their PPL for fun, and many who are on a professional pilot training program are not American.