Auxiliary Studies

Raydon

Just a curious question for everyone.

I have limited experience in aviation.. 20 hours in a piper, a few more in cessnas and i worked as a fueler @ KCCR in the bay area for a while.. but other than that I never really studied the subject. I know how to fly and talk on the radios.. but FL's, Airpsace types and everything that's basic knowledge for an ATC.. well I don't know.

Are any of you going out and buying books and studying up on your own or are you like me.. just interested and getting in line?

Is FAA Order 7110.65 too complex to grasp, because all of the information you need to know is in there. Depending on if you are TERMINAL/ENROUTE, I can point you in the right direction as what areas you can start studying up on, stuff that you have to know...also the Pilot/Controller Glossary is a great source of information too.

Let me know!

I apologize if you think my post came across as smart; however, I'm trying to supply you with the best information to help you prepare for life as an air traffic controller....

I asked if the book was too complex because even for seasoned controllers it can be intimidating, but I would be happy to point you to areas that could help you out with all of that stuff.

Do you know what facility are you going to be assigned? One of the best pieces of advice to give you once you do know, is contact that facilities training department and plead with them to get a copy of their training manual. You can study up on that to get ahead of the game. My training department gave me the manual about two months before I checked it and it helped tremendously.

Again, I apologize if you think I came over rude...I'm just trying to help you out.

If there is something specific you are looking for, let me know and I'll see what I can do to find it for you.