Trying to become an air force pilot

gcompton923

Hey all,

I am hoping someone with experience with the whole process can tell me how good my chances are of being selected by the board.

My AFOQT scores
Pilot 81
Nav 86
Acad apt 70
Verbal 86
Quantities 49

My PCSM score is a 52 with 0 flight hours.

I am currently in the process of applying for the board as an OTS candidate. I have 7 years of air traffic control experience. 4 strong LORs ranging from an E6 to an O5. I nailed the interview and my resume is strong.

I am currently in the army national Guard and I'm about to have my conditional release. I actually applied to the like officer board first and was selected to be an airfield ops officer but couldn't get my release in time.

I just want to know how confident I should feel going into this board and if I should reapply for the line officer board if this doesn't work out and plan to work towards a private pilots license to boost my score.

There are two separate boards. One for line officers and a rated board for pilots. You can only be selected by one at a time.

1. Guard/Reserve (avoid drones, control where you live, your career, and how often/long you deploy)
2. mil leave the FAA
3. ????
4. PROFIT!!!

Not understanding 3 and 4. No interest in being a civilian controller. Money does not matter to me. Guard and reserve would be great but my conditional release is for active duty airforce and it's a pain getting one. I'll be out of the army guard in November anyways. I just don't want to wait around and miss this board. I do plan to apply at local units after November. I currently live in Denver.