Don't Snap Roll A Hawker

So they hired a guy without the certificates and ratings to fly an airplane for them. And they were surprised this happened?
I'm putting this on the owner for being a cheap sob. Looks like it costs less to hire professionals.

24lkgtu.jpg

So they hired a guy without the certificates and ratings to fly an airplane for them. And they were surprised this happened?
I'm putting this on the owner for being a cheap sob. Looks like it costs less to hire professionals.

I didn't read that anywhere...the part about no certificates or ratings.

We had 2 instructors that rolled training aircraft when I was a student at ERAU.

1 rolled a 172 with 2 students onboard. He ended up cracking the spar. The scary thing was, they didn't find it until they tore it down for the 100-hour check. They eventually traced it back. Ended up having to send it to Kansas on a flatbed.

The other rolled a Piper Seminole with 2 students on board. He went on to be a Captain at Pinnacle. He flew a ferry flight one night. We all know how that story ends.

This event happened several years ago, and soooo many people have stories about it and claim to be connected to the truth. That last time I was talking to someone that claimed to be 'in the know' with this, he claimed to be the ferry pilot that flew it to FXE. He alleges that the damage occurred out of the U.S. and then flew it to FXE at 10,000' because the cabin wouldn't pressurize. Whether or not that is the truth, who knows.

1 rolled a 172 with 2 students onboard. He ended up cracking the spar. The scary thing was, they didn't find it until they tore it down for the 100-hour check. They eventually traced it back. Ended up having to send it to Kansas on a flatbed.

The stresses required to crack a C172 spar would have been significant enough that the damage would be noticed with wrinkled skin. Anyone would have seen that during a normal walk around.