who turns on the lights?

Just a different method of doing business, Our landing lights come on/off at 18K coincident with altimeter change, the logic being leaving/entering the VFR environment below Class A. Seems to be the only place that does it this way?
Of course. All this stuff is company specific and have there reason like harmonizing between fleet types. Lights on at 18k while your doing 300+ can be a drag if you’re airplane has retractable lights.

What about the seat belts at your shops?

I’m new to the Guppy and have had FOs turn it on and that caught me off guard. I thought I was El Supreme Commander of Belts.

Yes. Threw me off. AS FOs are ballsy with that one. When I was a VX FO I wouldn’t touch that sign without asking the CA what he thought. Now on Guppy? FOs just do it. Cultural thing.

I don’t mind for obvious bumps. But I’ve had FOs who at the first sign of a ripple, just throw the sign on. Wth?

Of course. All this stuff is company specific and have there reason like harmonizing between fleet types. Lights on at 18k while your doing 300+ can be a drag if you’re airplane has retractable lights.

absolutely, and can also be unnecessary stress on the same light mechanisms. .

Some of our 737s have retractable and fixed lights. On those, I put away the retractable lights at 10k (or on below 10k). But some have only one switch for each side, and there’s no option/control on that.

Our books state it’s safe and negligible effect to have the retract lights on at typical descent speeds at 18k. Still, I do those retract lights at 10k for on/off.

What about the seat belts at your shops?

I’m new to the Guppy and have had FOs turn it on and that caught me off guard. I thought I was El Supreme Commander of Belts.

It seems to me like it’s a PM thing. I usually forget it’s there and sometimes the captain asks me to turn on or off the seatbelt sign. But only when I’m the PM. PF El Supremo Commando does it,