Opinions or throughts on what to do with my experience

TheTwoTen

I'm at a bit of a crossroads, and I thought this might be a good place to get some insight from other aviators. I'll try to keep the backstory short, but it explains why I am where I am...

Back in 09 I graduated with a 4 year degree in aviation. Dumped me right into the crash/airline bailouts. Not a job in sight, and yet the student loan companies of course said "we'll start taking payments, thank you very much. Oh you have no income? We don't give a flying diddly - pay up sucker, our books look horrible these days" That s*** stung - hard. Those following years were a nightmare struggle. That, combined with a less-than-stellar experience with instructors, my school, and examiners (eg, one of many: the DPE on my CFI ride telling me "wow! the tower really sandbagged ya there!" only to hand me a pink slip later) left me very... skittish about the industry, to say the least. So much so that I ended up going back to school (admittedly, partially to get the collection calls to give it a rest for a little while, but mostly to broaden my options) and got an MBA, pretty much completly abandoning the idea of doing anything in aviation.

Now... in the mean time, things in aviation as we all know picked up, and I did end up instructing for a few years, some part and some full time. To make a long story short, I gained experience and ended up working for an photo/video company that specialized in aerial and basically run the ops now. I say "photo/video that specializes in aerial" as opposed to "aerial photo/video" company on purpose, because we do plenty of work that doesn't involve aviation. So I have a lot of photography and video experience (shooting while I fly, or doing the heli-with-doors-off thing).