Military experience to A&P

Low&Slow

Ancora imparo
I had an interview this morning with the FSDO maintenance inspector about using my military experience to qualify for A&P testing. I'm an Army airframe mechanic (15G), but I also help out everywhere else (engines, hydraulics, electrical, etc) when they need a hand. I satisfied his inquiries enough that he signed my 1086-2 for both Airframe and Powerplant.
I'm going to work on getting more powerplant and transmission experience before I go down to Baker School of Aeronautics though. Maybe next year?
Anyone have any experience with the program at Baker? What to expect, what I need to know before going down, etc. I've heard it's like drinking from a fire hose, so anything I can do to give myself a little educational or experience boost before going there would be good.
What are the A&P o&p tests like? I've heard they're really tough.
Thanks.

I know some people that have done almost exactly what you're planning. They told me that schools like Baker are specifically focused on the tests and nothing else, which is fine. If a person has been working in the field for a few years they certainly don't any kind of "Intro to Aviation" class anyway. I've been told it is exceedingly boring, just repetitive memorization of the questions and answers (although I'm not sure if the questions/answers are available these days). I know a couple of years ago the standards for the DME conducting oral and practicals were changed as well. A guy that works at a place I used to work took his O/P for his airframe after the new rules took effect and he was able to pass. I considered it a minor miracle.