"Cloud surfing" And IFR Airwork

DiveAndDrive

Hello all. I'm a newly minted IFR pilot (3/21/16!!). I have two questions for controllers.

1. If I want to do a local flight in actual conditions to get some "cloud surfing" time in (skimming in and out of the tops of a scattered or broken layer), but without a destination in mind, what would be the best way to do this? File the IFR flight plan to my departure airport and ask for a block of airspace? I guess the other way would be file a destination and then request a cruise clearance, but I think this second method could be confusing.

2. If I want to do a local IFR flight to get some actual IMC and do approaches/holding, what would be the best way to do that? My instructor and I have departed VFR before and called approach airborne for a pop up local IFR clearance. How would one file a flight plan like that and go about getting the clearance on the ground? Just like any other IFR flight?

File abc-abc via some fix in the direction you want to go. Put the block request in the remarks and ask the controller for it as well.

You can also try asking for VFR on top. Basically you're VFR below the clouds, ask for a VFR on top, and the controller gives you an IFR climb through the clouds to a higher altitude that is (hopefully) VFR.

For just doing local IFR stuff, you can do as you have done and get a local clearance in the air, or you can file a round robin flight plane. APT-FIX(the one you want to hold at)-APT. You can put in remarks you're looking for practice work or tell the tower/controller. Workload permitting I'm sure they'd be happy to work with you.

You can also try asking for VFR on top. Basically you're VFR below the clouds, ask for a VFR on top, and the controller gives you an IFR climb through the clouds to a higher altitude that is (hopefully) VFR.