Cherry Point MCAS, North Carolina

Low&Slow

Ancora imparo
I know this is a military "pilot" thread, but I figured it's probably the best place to find people who have more than likely lived in, or at least visited, the area. If it's in the wrong forum, please have the webgods move it to a more suitable/acceptable location.
I'm an Army airframe mechanic (MOS 15G) looking for full-time, permanent work and I have been given an opportunity to accept a civilian position as a federal technician working on the UH-1 and AH-1 upgrades, V-22, AV-8B, F-35, and lots of various helicopters at Cherry Point, MCAS. The last time I was there was 1978. I was in grade school at Pope AFB and we took a field trip to Tryon Palace and ate lunch at a park on the river.
I'm very interested in accepting the position, but it will require a 900 mile move from Michigan and I don't know anybody closer than a 3 hour drive. The recruiter said that I have until this Friday to accept the position or refuse it.
What is the area like? Would you live there? Where would you live in that area knowing you had to work at the airfield on post?
I presently hold an active Army ID card so I should be able to utilize the base facilities if needed (PX, Commissary, etc), but is there decent shopping in the area off-post?
How bad is the tourism in the summer? I don't like crowds, traffic, cities, or neighbors and prefer rural living, how likely is that to happen for me? Are there any opportunities for flying as a CFI or anything else?
My wife will be left in Michigan to get the house ready to sell and find a realtor to put it on the market. Her living there and me living in NC will be very expensive until we get the house sold and she can come down to join me in looking for a place for both of us and our two HS aged daughters. It will be a struggle for sure, at least until the house in MI gets sold. Any other advice or considerations I should think about?