Career Change Advice

RampItUp

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting on this forum and I would appreciate some advice.

I currently work in shipping and desire a career change to aviation. I enjoyed working as a ramper for a regional some years ago but needed to change jobs to pay the bills. I am considering earning my dispatch license in early 2022 and applying to work at a regional with the hopes of someday working for a mainline carrier.

It's pretty clear what qualities one has to have in order to be a good dispatcher: quick thinking, ability to work under pressure, good communication skills etc. However, are there any signs that someone is NOT cut out to be a dispatcher? When people end up quitting, why? How often do people enter this line of work and realize it's just not the right fit for them? Are some people just--you know--not smart enough?

I'm fortunate to be in a position where I can take steps to change my career. I just want to hear the educated opinions of people in the industry.

Thanks in advance.

I'd say the main reason most people quit the regionals is for pay reasons. Regional dispatch seems to pay $13-16/hour, and it can be tough to make that work, especially if you have a family. Other options you can look at is to see if you can get into crew scheduling at a mainline carrier right away and move into dispatch as an internal candidate. Pay isn't too bad, benefits are a lot better than what you find at a regional.

I wouldn't be too worried about "not being smart enough." If you have a good head, you'll do fine. Dispatch school can be like getting fed by a fire hose. It's a lot of information in a short amount of time. Don't let that discourage you. You're there to build a base knowledge. Specifics will be trained when you get hired on as a dispatcher.