Bidding 101

MikeNovemberMike

I came, I saw, I went to bed....
I’m entering the 121 arena from 135. I have no idea what bidding is, but understand that if done strategically, you can ensure a good QOL or make bank. Can you gents share your wisdom and tactics with a freshman airline guy?

I’m entering the 121 arena from 135. I have no idea what bidding is, but understand that if done strategically, you can ensure a good QOL or make bank. Can you gents share your wisdom and tactics with a freshman airline guy?

Can you tell us what bidding system you're using? I'm new to this myself but have been getting a crash course in using NAVBLUE's PBS system. Happy to share what I know - and maybe learn some things here, too.

You might also check out YouTube - for example, they sent us to watch a bunch of videos that Delta produced for PBS bidding that were more or less applicable to us.

Depends on what your goals are. Do you want to make bank at all costs, sacrificing QoL for the cheddar or would you like some QoL if it means giving up on making cheddar? There are pilots that overextend themselves and need to make a certain income to pay for the toys and life's mistakes. Whereas plenty of others that work the minimum allowed to maximize QoL via time off for other activities.

As @killbilly said, what system makes a difference. Even varies from company to company based on the CBA.

Always ask help from the PBS committee, but here is my general strategy as a junior person.

Ask for what you want. Don't tell it what you don't want. If using Navblue PBS, avoid statements are dangerous.
I listened to you and now I have reserve A until July. Send help haha ;) jk, thats my seniority and the fact i was an idiot and left a PHX base bid in and went to the absolute bottom.