Any A&P's that would like and extra hand in Houston?

Xjetdisp90

I'm a 350+hour Commercial SEL/MEL pilot living in NW Houston. I would like to get in touch with an A&P in the Houston area, preferably at EYQ, DWH, or IWS, to start on my 30 months so I can get my A&P on the side. Don't really care about pay. The education and the networking opportunities are enough. I'm a Dispatcher for ExpressJet so I could only work 1 or 2 days a week.

Xjetdisp90,

I commend you on your desire to earn your A&P, however I think that by reading your post that you're misguided on the means to achieve your goal. Yes, FAR 65.77 says that it takes 30 months of experience to earn the Mechanic Certificate with both Airframe & Powerplant ratings. That being said, you're not going to get 30 months worth of experience working one or two days a week! Either be a dispatcher, or be an apprentice mechanic.

Stonefly

How long will it take to get thirty months experience working one or two days a week?

Let's say that the average work week is 40 hours. With a two week vacation you end up working 50 weeks. Utilizing my public school math, that comes to 2000 hours. Then divide 2000 by 12 (the months in a year) & that comes out to about 166.7 hours for an average month. Now multiply 166.7 times 30 (the amount of months of experience required) and you get 5001 hours to satisfy the experience requirement.

Now you want to just work one or two days a week. Let's say that you stay motivated and do work two instead of just one. That's 16 hours a week, again times 50, which comes out to 800 hours a year. To get the 5001 hours at that pace, it will take you over SIX YEARS to get the required experience!