Basics of ATC hiring

Bernoulli Fan

Controller
Hello all,

I'm currently a flight instructor, but I'm interested in finding more out about a career in ATC. Maybe I don't know where to look, but faa.gov doesn't seem to have much in the way of a "This is how to become an air traffic controller" section.

I've read quite a few threads on here, but most are beyond my understanding: PEPC, OTS, CTI, ATSAT -- you guys have more acronyms than pilots do!

Ok, so I know from talking to the guys in the KSMO tower that the FAA is hiring off the street. What is the deal with contract towers vs...I don't know what the opposite is? I see you select geographical preferences after the test -- are there certain areas of the country that are known to be more in need than others? I'd be interested in the Boston area.

Is there a website (or thread here that I missed) that lays out the steps to become a controller? I'm just looking for basics, like here's where to go to apply, this is what the ATSAT is, and so forth. Thanks for any input.

There's quite a bit of info on this site. You want Path 2.

They're currently opening off-the-street (those who follow path 2 from above) applications every month. Usually about halfway through the month or so they'll post the new announcement. Check the job posting site often (jobs.faa.gov).

I'll try to cover everything you've asked...

PEPC - Pre-Employment Processing Center - interview, medical, psych, security paperwork, etc. all in a one day event... some are invited to attend a PEPC, some are not... if you don't go the PEPC route, you have to do all those things on your own schedule, usually dragged out over a month or two

OTS - Off the Street - one with no prior ATC experience