Hotel Points

Sisson2011

I have a questions for the airlines crews out there that collect hotel points. I have been collecting hotel points for about 6 months now. Most of the time we don't get any points, however, I do have some. It never hurts to ask if it is free.

I'm curious what is the best way to maximize the points I gain? Especially considering I have the points sscatteredall over different reward programs. I have considered doing a few things. I have thought about putting them all into an airline program. I get free flights, but it would allow me to take a vacation and be able to know that I'm going to get there and back. I have thought about just keeping them and just using them for a free hotel room when I get enough points, no matter how long it takes. I have considered getting one of the reward credit cards for either a hotel brand or airline brand to help boost the points.

What do you do to maximize the points? Does it work good?

Thanks for sharing..

Being at an airline you don't have too many options. The best ways to get tons of points is to find the 2X and 3X points specials that hotels put out for certain periods of time and then use that hotel. Unfortunately your airline will only put you up in the contract hotel they have in each location.

Watch expirations on the point. Hilton and Marriott expire after a period, Priotity club (holiday inn group) doesn't.

Watch for the deals when spending them as well to maximize. We got a private villa on Koh Sumoi, Thailand for 50k Hilton points, normally is 200k or $2200 a night.

I've been on some killer vacations paid for with points.

There's a bit of "inflation" though, used to be 40k miles would get a round trip to europe, more like 150k now.

Hilton & starwood are great, but it takes years to get enough to do anything cool. Flyertalk.com has great ways to scam points. Most of them are cheap enough that they should have been pilots :)