Flying right seat as PIC

atomic20v

I've never flown anything but left seat since I started training and passed my checkride (checked out in C152 and PA-28). Is there any issue flying the plane PIC from the right seat without prior instruction? It makes me kind of nervous - I'm assuming they teach this in the instructor courses. I'd like to take my friend for a flight in a 152 and let him sit left seat (although never giving him the controls). Anyone done this before or is this a really horrible idea?

I would do it with an instructor first. It's not a big deal, but low time and with a friend is a bad time to try something new for the first time.

I've never flown anything but left seat since I started training and passed my checkride (checked out in C152 and PA-28). Is there any issue flying the plane PIC from the right seat without prior instruction? It makes me kind of nervous - I'm assuming they teach this in the instructor courses. I'd like to take my friend for a flight in a 152 and let him sit left seat (although never giving him the controls). Anyone done this before or is this a really horrible idea?
Being new to the game, and just having done your checkride, I would say to go up with an instructor at least once and fly from the right seat. At your experience level, you might have a hard time. I was a Commercial Pilot with 250+ hours when I started flying right seat for my CFI, and it was disorienting.

Also, I know, you know, and everybody here knows you are going to let your friend fly some. that would be just cruel to take him up and never even let him touch the controls. Everybody here who has taken friends up has let them fly. The key is in a very controlled environment and with lots of altitude. I would only let them do straight and level and shallow bank turns.