What the hell am I doing here???

Maddog1974

:banghead:
So to start off i have to say i love my job. I love the fact that i get to fly and get paid to do it. My wife still hates me for being at ATP, but oh well...i had to get here somehow!

I have this job now with a part 61 outfit. They are working on 141 with hte first inspection out of the way. Needless to say the plane was grounded for a month to get the laundry list fixed. The "company" also flies a King Air 100 for a local owner who wants it on a 135 certificate, also on approach with inspections.

My problem is this...I am a low time pilot. I am freakin out about how to build time. I hear that guys that joined AE just a couple of years ago are loving it. I have ATP grads and Instructor who are woking for AE, Mesaba, etc who love it. I hear that an instructor back in carolina has around 1400 hours and is having a hard time getting a job. I respect my boss, former freight dawg and NJ guy, now a test pilot. He says to stick with them a couple years...instruct...gain time and experience and then launch into the industry.

But i tell you what...regionals are loookin pretty sexy right about now. I would make about the same as i do now with the way the economy is going. So i am wondering...WHAT THE HELL AM I DOING HERE?

I know, you can't tell me what will float or sink my boat. But it seems to me that seniority is everything, and connections, and friends, and....
I don't want to go airlines. I am 34, no degree (just part of one), married with kids. I just don't know how to approach the 135 pax, freight, or other world. Stay here and instruct, hope the KA gets busy and they get another AC...