US Airways 1267 Returns to PHL "Terrorist Threat" (HOAX)

melax

I hope that The Federal judge will throw the book at those idiots !! I can't believe that people can be that stupid !
It's got to be a better way than just reacting and diverting flights because of a call, I'm no expert and do not have the solution but it seems too easy to disrupt the operations of airlines today.

http://www.nbcphiladelphia.com/news...adelphia-Due-to-Security-Issue-168753036.html

2 Being Questioned in Philly Int'l Hoax

Security issue involving US Airways flight at Philadelphia International Airport.

NBC10 Philadelphia
A man is removed from a US Airways flight in handcuffs after police respond to investigate a security issue.

Two people, a male and female, are in custody in Philadelphia and are being questioned about the hoax behind a security scare involving a US Airways flight en route to Dallas-Fort Worth, sources told NBC10.
Those sources also told NBC10 the hoax, which Philadelaphia Police called "a pretty nasty trick" was motivated by revenge involving a romantic relationship.
Flight 1267 was turned around shortly after taking off from Philadelphia International Airport Thursday morning, because of an anonymous call to the Philadelphia Police Department, according to investigators.
FBI agents told NBC10 the caller was a man.
Philadelphia Police Chief Inspector Joe Sullivan says the call was received at 7:30 a.m. and the caller claimed a man, whose name was given, would attempt to get on a plane to Texas with a dangerous substance.
It was determined the man named by the caller was on Flight 1267 whick took-off at 8:06 a.m. A decision was made by the Philadelphia Police, the FBI and US Airways to turn the plane around and it was given instructions to do so at 8:22 a.m.
NBC10 crews have been told that a man named Christopher Shell, was removed from the airplane in handcuffs, and is the victim of the hoax. Today is Shell's 29th birthday.