Trying to Decide.......

TheMorningRise

Like many who post on this section of the forum, I am trying to decide on a career change.

Currently, I am a project manager in the construction trades (40 years of age with a fiance and no children), near Madison, Wisconsin. While things are going okay currently, it is a field that does not provide personal fulfillment. I have been in the industry the past 12 years plus and I have seen the good and the bad. With the way the market has been the past few years, another slow down is coming. Not a crash, but not the rapid growth we have seen. In the end, I am simply "over" this career and job field.

I am trying to decide on either aviation, or web development. I can see many rolling their eyes already and thinking to themselves that this one is easy, web development. While there are things that appeal to me in that field (employment opportunities, financial growth, career growth, flexibility, etc.), I am still not 100% sold on it as of yet.

Where did aviation come from in this decision making process?

I was brought up in the industry. My father was a 121 pilot and flight instructor on the side. I completed my first take-off (with his assistance) at 10 years of age. I remember sitting in the back seat of 172's while he instructed. As I grew, my interests and opportunities changed. Thus, I moved away from aviation, but never lost interest in it. Now, I am thinking of making it a career change.

That said, I have no interest or intension of going into the airline world. My goal would be either a nice 135 operation or a corporate position. Sure, a Citation X seat would be nice. However, I'd be content in a King Air, Caravan, PC-12 for the right income and QOL. In all honesty, my number one goal would be to get us to Alaska (as a permanent move) and fly floats. I believe that is the last great frontier of GA and if I could make a livable wage flying floats/skis up there, I would be content.