Transitioning from military, aspiring pilot.

Andrew_Neal

Came across this forum today and spent an hour or two reading a lot of great information - but nothing specifically about what I'm wondering. I wanted to ask current/previous pilots of the commercial and/or private sector about what it takes to get a good footing in the aviation industry as a pilot.

A little about myself. I'm 22, been in the Marines (enlisted side) on active duty for about 4 years now. 1 year left. I'm married with 2 children and 1 on the way. I work as an avionics tech on Bell H-1's. I'm going to be TRYING to obtain my FCC and A&P before I EAS next year. I'm also in school full-time for a B.S. in Computer Science/Software Engineering as a freshman. I'm from Atlanta currently living in NC.

Essentially, my end goal is to become a pilot for the private or commercial sector. I enjoy aviation as a whole but the maintenance side is too blue-collar for the work-life balance I'm trying to work towards. Although; I wouldn't mind doing it in the civilian sector until I finish my degree and are able to open up more options. I have not used my GI Bill and have every intention of using it for flight school, since federal & state grants is covering the majority of my school expenses. I also have the intent of joining the Air National Guard next year following my EAS in order to maintain health insurance benefits for my family, and to stay involved in military aviation while I work full time and finish my degree.

I have a lot of thoughts, ideas and opportunities running through my mind and a hard time adding them up in an order that will best set me up for a career as a pilot. The biggest challenge is reaching all of these goals while still providing for the family via full-time work. Just looking for some friendly advice from current pilots who may or may not have had similar situations or have any advice to offer.

Any suggestions or advice is greatly appreciated!