Total time question

Maximilian_Jenius

Super User
How do you all calculate your total time from your logbook? When I've posed this question in the past (not here), I get a ton of different answers. So looking for a genral consensus. I currently add my airplane SEL and airplane MEL time together to get my total time. While others have told me that you add everything to get your total time. So in their book, in addition to Airplane SEL and MEL. It sounds like they're adding dual received, PIC, day/night and cross country et al. to come to their totals. I don't know if I exactly agree with that thinking.

And before anyone asks. Yes I actually do have my IR rating and all my other ratings and certs as well. Ask about a mf on the FAA registry. No I don't know how to use an ADF, NDB, RMI or an OBS style VOR. But willing to learn if taught. No, I'm not a child of the magenta line. And yes after all of that. I'm still a competent and safe pilot and able to navigate safely from place to place. With zero accidents and incidents on my record. That should just about cover it, all right? Right??? #triggered

Last edited:
Depends on your objective. AirlineApps count all dual received (even your instrument) as SIC, even though you may have been legal to log/act as PIC under 61.31 & 61.51.

I’ll second that LogTen tells me…. But in the before times, I would add up the column at the end of each line of my big green logbook per page then as a running total. I also kept track of ASEL, AMEL, night, IFR, etc etc the same way.

Depends on your objective. AirlineApps count all dual received (even your instrument) as SIC, even though you may have been legal to log/act as PIC under 61.31 & 61.51.

You’d probably have to go back and manually update it I guess to make it read correctly. (if it’s your first app and all)