This guy is so cool

Bog

Right. Now, when I was a private pilot and new to the world of aviation, I always thought it'd be cool to take a 172 into LAX. However, I knew that, out of respect for those at work, I should only attempt such a maneuver at about 3am.

So why, then, is a Cirrus at IAD during one of the peak times of the day? What's wrong with Manassas or something else?

One Of These Things Is Not Like The Other...

[ QUOTE ]
Interesting how he's taxiing on the wrong line!

[/ QUOTE ]

The jet blast would probably melt his little plane.....
grin.gif

(sorry photopilot....just jiving)

Yeah, he was just ... clueless. He and a Shuttle Saab were in the penalty box awaiting their sequence inbetween the rest of us. IAD Ground tells this guy that he can wait with the Saab, who will fall in behind JB, then fall in behind ZW in front of me. Well, about 20 seconds later, he feels the need to back-taxi to where we are so he can join the line. Then, yes, follows the taxiway edge line, which worked to avoid that massive CRJ jet blast until the left turn down the way. Then he moved to the indside line.

Was almost funny when ZW's CRJ2 took the runway in front of this guy. He was lined up directly in line with the right engine and took a good rocking. If he'd just stayed on the centerline he would have been fine.

GA should not be at IAD, ORD, ATL, LAX, SFO, or the like. That's why we have hundreds of GA airports for each mainline hub.

Sorry, Bog, I gotta disagree. GA has as much right to be there as we do, and if you're going to do it, the Cirrus is one of the most capable GA airplanes there is. I've been in to lots of hubs in small airplanes and it can be done very safely and efficiently if the pilot is capable and has his/her head in the game.

I was in MEM last night during the FedEx rush in a Seminole.. I didn't cause any ruckus though..

[ QUOTE ]