Skywest guys?

grchase90

That's assistant to the Chief!
I'm just getting started on my airline apps and interviews. I've got an interview lined up with Skywest in the next two weeks. I'm a GA boy born and raised so I don't really know much about them, but I would like to learn some more. We got any current Skywest pilots on the forum?

I'm interested in finding out things like
-most junior bases
-equipment hiring for
-commutable from the east coast?
-upgrade time
-if you were just starting out would you pick Skywest? Why?

Thanks in advance guys! Looking forward to gathering some useful information from the guys who have been around the industry awhile. Talked to a Delta captain the other day and he said he doesn't fly enough domestic to tell me much of anything. Lol So, hopefully I'll be able to reach the right crowd.

To add to those questions, since Skywest holds more of my attention than I'd normally admit:
- Is it SFO an achievable base? I'm mostly interested in the EMB120, but open to anything. I still have at least a year to think about it, by which time I imagine the industry will have tanked again, but I have my ears perked.

Plenty of guys from my class (march) are in SFO. Most the ones that wanted it got it the second month out of class (so one month in Fresno)

As far as hiring, we have 10 bro guys in training so I take it were hiring into the bro again so hiring to all three, CRJ, ERJ and EMB120

Junior bases on the crj I'd say are MSP, and ORD. Jet guys probably know more than me about the subject.

Some bases are mor commutable than others. LAX? I say that's a joke easy commute from say FLL or something. ORD? Not for me. IAH, pretty easy.

All depends on where you're coming from and what base you want. Never ever 2 leg unless you absolutely have to. It sucks.

And the SFO stuff I mentioned before is all Brasilia. SFO as a jet guy takes a good while if I recall correctly.