Returning to the fold and next steps

awbmof

Its been a long time since I last posted on jetcareers, been flying for fun over the last seven years while working a corporate cube dwelling job, enduring a layoff, getting recalled, and being thrust into the role of caregiver. Through all of my experiences good and bad, I've still kept the desire to fly professionally one day.

So far, I have earned my Commercial, Instrument, and Dispatch tickets accompanied by 515 hours total time (with all but the CC, ME and total time requirements met for the ATP) while passing the ATP written last July for good measure. Currently, I am studying for the FOI and CFI initial written tests and plan on actively training after passing both exams. Plus I have a couple of non-aviation, 4-year degrees and a couple of aviation 2 year degrees, with minimal debt obligations.

In posting here, I am trying to determine my next steps after getting my CFI. Initially, I plan to keep my day job until at least December 2015 (and instruct part-time) to cushion my retirement savings and cash reserves for a possible career change. I would like to fly for a legacy as my long term goal, but at 34 and being raised in the industry, I am under no illusion of the myriad of events and luck that would have to transpire for this outcome. Besides, I'll think about where I want to apply (regional, legacy or other) when I get to that point.

Where I am looking for help is building experience before the ATP practical cutoff in July 2016. I look forward to instructing but should I just go ahead and make the jump to full-time ASAP (before December 2015) after completing my CFI certs to get to 135 or ATP minimums?, Keep the job, CFI part time and buy an airplane to fly when not instructing until I hit ATP mins?

I would greatly appreciate any suggestions or guidance on how to build my experience with in the next two years. Is there a possibility I've overlooked?

Thanks,

Andrew