Regulation Question

V1_cut

CL-65
I have been asked to do the required ground and flight training for a CFII applicant. I am a CFII-MEI but I have not had 2 years of experience as a CFI.

Can I teach him and endorse this CFII candidate?

I have been told about 50% “yes you can” and 50% “no you can not”.

My take on the regs is that, it says an Initial Applicant for a CFI. Because he has already received his CFI his is adding this rating onto it. I do not see why I could not do his training. I have not been given a good reason on why I can not, but the reasons for the “yes you can” answers are all the same, He is not an Initial Applicant.

I will call the FSDO this week, but I just wanted to see if anyone had any insights into this matter.
The answer seems obvious to me but I ask because so many others say I can not.

Thank you

These are the regs, Part 61.195 Flight instructor limitations and qualifications.

Subpart H

(h) Qualifications of the flight instructor for training first-time flight instructor applicants. (1) The ground training provided to an initial applicant for a flight instructor certificate must be given by an authorized instructor who—
(i) Holds a ground or flight instructor certificate with the appropriate rating, has held that certificate for at least 24 calendar months, and has given at least 40 hours of ground training; or
(ii) Holds a ground or flight instructor certificate with the appropriate rating, and has given at least 100 hours of ground training in an FAA-approved course.
(2) Except for an instructor who meets the requirements of paragraph (h)(3)(ii) of this section, a flight instructor who provides training to an initial applicant for a flight instructor certificate must—
(i) Meet the eligibility requirements prescribed in §61.183 of this part;
(ii) Hold the appropriate flight instructor certificate and rating;
(iii) Have held a flight instructor certificate for at least 24 months;

Can I teach him and endorse this CFII candidate?