R22 or 300c for private?

Andrew_Neal

So my school has a couple 300c's and an R22. I opted to use the 300c because there was more instructor availability on the schedule (work full time needed flexibility) and also the weight limitations, since I weigh 225. Recently both our 300c's went down for maintenance when one of them put the tail rotor in the dirt flaring on an auto and the other bird had the tail rotor drive shaft hi-time out. Due to some politics the school staff isn't sure when they will come back up. IF for some reason it's going to be a while, I may switch to the R22 since we're about to get a third CFI for it. Only thing is... the weight. Won't be doing any real good cross country's at 225 lbs...

Whats everyone's take on this? Wait out the 300c or just switch to the r22 and maybe go on a diet? I'm only 3 lessons in on my private. Cost isn't an issue since I'm a VA student.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

So my school has a couple 300c's and an R22. I opted to use the 300c because there was more instructor availability on the schedule (work full time needed flexibility) and also the weight limitations, since I weigh 225. Recently both our 300c's went down for maintenance when one of them put the tail rotor in the dirt flaring on an auto and the other bird had the tail rotor drive shaft hi-time out. Due to some politics the school staff isn't sure when they will come back up. IF for some reason it's going to be a while, I may switch to the R22 since we're about to get a third CFI for it. Only thing is... the weight. Won't be doing any real good cross country's at 225 lbs...

Whats everyone's take on this? Wait out the 300c or just switch to the r22 and maybe go on a diet? I'm only 3 lessons in on my private. Cost isn't an issue since I'm a VA student.

I would fly the R22 because you would get the SFAR out of the way for the future. The health benefits of getting to a lower weight would be good too.

Last edited: