Need some compensation Advice

Ccerv92199

Possible part time flying gig.
Need some advice on flying a Bonanza 2 days a week, Daily compensation?
Also flying a Baron 1 trip a month for 4 days, Daily compensation?

CFC

Possible part time flying gig.
Need some advice on flying a Bonanza 2 days a week, Daily compensation?
Also flying a Baron 1 trip a month for 4 days, Daily compensation?

CFC
Where are you located?

Are you required to have liability insurance?

Who pays your expenses on the road?

What are the training requirements? Who pays for it?

What kind of availability must you maintain?

Are you providing your own flying equipment (charts, tablet, etc.)?

Will there be ground duties (trip coordination, cleaning the planes, etc.)?

Your fee is, in part, determined by your answers to these questions.

Disclaimer: I'm not a pilot, but I have some experience in aviation contracting.

IMHO.........

YOU set the price based on market (@Nihon_Ni $450 seems fair) or what seems fair to you with consideration given to the mission (I.e. The trip is 10 days long, owner guarantees the 10 day, you can give a break and do it all for 425/day. This lets the owner know you’ll work not only for him but WITH him). Also (for me), I charge more for international operations (more headaches, more pay).

I’ve turned down numerous trips when I’m told, “Well so and so will do it for ”X” amount!”; “OK, thank you for the call and the opportunity to discuss”. More than once, people have called back and hired me at my rate.

DON’T be the Tool that tries to undercut a single day rate and the market (and your fellow pilots) by asking for much lower.

Outside of personal negligence, the insurance falls on the owner. Make that clear from the start.

All travel expenses are in addition to your contract price ($450/day in THIS example). My day rate is what it is; whether I’m on a commercial flight headed to/from the gig or flying your aircraft, the price is the same per day.