My TSA story...I worked for them, oops!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Timbuff10

I have been meaning to do this for a while but have been so busy I never got around to do it, but here it goes.

Before 9/11 I had planned on going to Comair or some big flight school, but then everything changed and my plan became to work after I graduated from CU-Boulder in May of '02. I figured if I got a real job for about 6 months, then I could pay for a good chunk of my flying without dealing with loans and so on.

By July, I had applied for the TSA, as I thought it would be a great job to have and down the line the airlines would look at it and say "wow, you helped our industry in its time of greatest need". Well, during my interview process I was promised a supervisor or lead position that I was told paid really well (~$40,000/yr). I already had my 4-yr. degree and 2 years of security experience so I knew I would fit right in. This was all great and it was a secure government job with government benifits, right? Wrong--After a hiring process of about a month, at the last minute they told me that they hired too many supervisors and all they could offer me was a basic screener position or wait 6 months and I could get the high-paying Supervisor position. Well, I wanted to work immediately so I took them up on the basic screener. Turns out, pretty much everyone got this treatment.

Next up was the classroom training, which was good but I think should have been more thorough and updated. It seemed to be thrown together at the last minute and for some reason we used old programs from England to learn the X-ray. All through this process we were constantly told about how we are the first batch of screeners at our airport and will have all the chances for promotion and so on.