Mistake in my PRIA?

BBPILOT737

About a year ago, I busted a 135 PIC ride administered in the aircraft by a company check airman (turboprop). I subsequently completed the remedial training and passed the second attempt.

I've since begun training at a regional, to whom I was 100% honest during all interview conversations and questionnaires about my previous failure. As terrible as it feels to have the failure on my record, I always have been and always intend to be completely upfront about my training history - there's always a way to turn a negative into a positive, share what I learned from the experience, and show that I'm still an asset as a pilot to whatever company I'm interested in.

Things got interesting when I received a copy of the PRIA documents my previous company sent to the new employer. They indicated that I had never failed a checkride, and there was no copy of the "pink slip" I remember filling out the day I failed - only a copy of the second successful outcome.

I do know that Part 135 permits retraining and re-checking during a checkride, but that was not my understanding of what occurred last year. Is this simply the case of inaccurate records, did the company take a liberty with the regulations on my behalf, or am I misunderstanding the 135 regulations altogether?

I think the honest thing to do would be to simply ask my old chief pilot - but I don't want the company to have to self-disclose anything and face a penalty if this was a mistake. At the same time, I would like to know if I can legally answer no to the question of previous failures on any applications in the future. If it turns out that this was an error, I'm no worse off - Failures happen and I had already come to terms with its place on my PRIA moving forward.

Anyone with some insight or advice?

Does an administrative error mean you never really failed the check ride? Integrity, integrity, integrity...