logging flight time questions ?

kansaspilot

When flying as a safety pilot, I was told that I can log flight time. Is this true, and if so what time can I log dual or SIC?

Neither...log it as PIC. But don't do too much of it...its a crap way to build time in most companies eyes.

It's not that I am trying to build time the cheap way. How can you log it as PIC when you are a safety pilot. Basicly it seems your'e there for traffic avoidence etc while the left seat is under the hood. Can you elaborate for me.

You and the pilot under the hood can both log the time as PIC. Collision avoidance is quite important and its all up to the safety pilot(pic)....Remember there is the 1st pic...sole manipulator of the controls, the pilot under the hood, or the student pilot when dual received with the CFI. Then there is PIC...Pilot who is final athority of the flight....safety pilot, CFI.

Safety pilot time can be logged (or not) three ways.

1) As PIC. This is because the FARs require that an appropriately rated and current pilot be on board when the pilot flying is under the hood. However, in order to log the time as PIC both pilots must agree, before the flight (or at from some point forward), that the safety pilot will be the acting PIC. This then puts all responisbility of the flight (and the consequences of any violations) on the safety pilot. The pilot under the hood can then log PIC time because he or she is the sole manipulator of the controls.

2) As SIC. The same regulation that requires the safety pilot allows he or she to log the time as SIC. In the scenario the safety pilot has refused to act as PIC and thus can log the time as SIC. When the safety pilot rule was written it was envisioned that it would be logged as SIC.

3) Not log the time at all. However the pilot flying must still enter the name of the safety pilot in his or her logbook.