Line Service Question: "Tabs"

killbilly

Vocals, Lyrics, Triangle, Washboard, Kittens
When you're a newbie line service guy, do they teach you what "to the tabs" means?

The last two times I've purchased fuel in the Arrow, I've specifically asked for the airplane to be fueled to the tabs.

I've been topped off each time.

There is a difference between not knowing, and not remembering the correct fuel order. I would talk to the manager about the consistent mis-fueling but to the tabs is a pretty straightforward order.

I got taught it on the first day I started to fuel, but I was a pilot already so the terminology was familiar. However, I am guessing that the order wasn't remember correctly. It is always good to double check with the linemen to make sure they know what you mean. I worked with some real unique characters, I was surprised they could put their clothes on in the morning.

That's a Piper-ism and I bet a lot of people just aren't familiar with the terminology. Side note, I absolutely love the Cherokee family.

That's a Piper-ism and I bet a lot of people just aren't familiar with the terminology. Side note, I absolutely love the Cherokee family.

I'm developing a sound appreciation for them. The PA-28R I've been flying is a lovely machine. Fairly quick and efficient for an entry-level cruiser. I'm hoping to take one from DC to Orlando in a couple of weeks.

Well, on Thursday I told a fueller at Signature STP I didn't need gas, to which he decided I needed a top off with prist. 190 gallons later I was glad to not be the one paying the bill.

Well, on Thursday I told a fueller at Signature STP I didn't need gas, to which he decided I needed a top off with prist. 190 gallons later I was glad to not be the one paying the bill.
I mean if you told them not to fuel it.... It could be entirely possible that you can not longer take off from that airport and have to de-fuel. All on them.