Level D sim

John Grier

I'm currently a right seat instructor in CE 680 and the Challenger 300. I'm having trouble with the idea that the time spent training in these sims don't count as flight experience required for an ATP rating. I've learned way more flying right seat in the sim than I have flying in circles dropping sky divers.

Is there way to petition the FAA's ruling on counting formal level D training towards the total time needed for the ATP rating? If they will allow 100 hours why not 200?

Flying SIC in a sim is much more valuable experience than sitting right seat on a charter flight.

Unfortunately John, that's the common mindset in the flying community. The fact that you are sharpening your skills repeating and honing emergency procedures in the sim all day bears less importance than someone doing little more than turning money in to noise. If I had a choice of my perfect aviation job it would be training pilots in a level D simulator all day. The knowledge and confidence in being able to handle just about every scenario in the real aircraft with little effort is satisfaction enough for me.

You may be successful in getting the FAA to allow it, but then what? Most airlines, especially legacies, are not going to accept that for a flying position. They'll want to see actual flying time, not sim time. If your goal is to do something in aviation other than airline flying, I would check to see if employers would be OK with it.

Same basic scenario for Flight Instructor. You can log time but are you actually flying the plane all the time.

Same basic scenario for Flight Instructor. You can log time but are you actually flying the plane all the time.