ipod headset interface

fisher37

what do you guys use to hook your ipod up to your headset? i know im going to get burned on this buy a few of you guys out there..but im getting ready to head into a lot of solo time for hour building for my commercial ticket...

Sounds like a recipe for an accident. A low time private pilot bombing around the country VFR listening to gansta rap (ok I was kidding about the gangsta rap).

Sound is an important cue in light airplanes. You can hear changes in your engine, changes in the airflow (indicative of speed), etc. When you read about RJ pilots listening to RJs keep in mind that they have an airplane that will give them chimes, flashing lights, CAS messages, TCAS, GPWS, all designed to enhance their situational awareness. So while i dont agree with RJ pilots listening to Ipods either, it is immeasurably safer for them to do so tha it is for you.

Full disclosure: When I was a freight pilot flying a Bonanza around the country at night, single pilot -- I listened to my walkman. I'm a lot smarter now than I was then.

lol, i know what you mean. i knew i was going to get burned. i do fly the g1000 which helps quite a bit to detect problems that may happen, and i will still be able to hear the plane fairly well...

The new 172s have a place for Aux audio input and will automaticly cut the music when the radio recives a transmition. If yours dosen't have this, get a headset with a jack for this and a "radio inturupt" feature". Don't put you headset on over your earbuds, you'll miss all sorts of radio calls.

I don't see any problem with listening to music while you fly, especially at cruise. We all do this while driving which is much more demanding.