I GOT OUT!

What quals/skills they need to be considered?

Nothing too special..

In order to be considered for this training program, a candidate must have two years of Algebra 1 or higher at the high school or college level and must meet one of the criteria below:
  • Technical degree related to power production from a two or four year regionally accredited educational institution (i.e. SACS accreditation); or
  • Non-technical degree from a two or four year regionally accredited educational institution (i.e. SACS accreditation); or
  • Formal craft apprenticeship (fossil only); or
  • Other equivalencies such as certain military training (related to power industry) or completion of a certain number of college hours (which include technical classes); or
  • Other equivalencies that are evaluated on a one-on-one basis by recruiters
Candidates for nuclear trainee program must also have completed chemistry and physics at the high school or college level.

I work as a plant operator at a large coal plant...was hired in part due to my aviation background(CFI)...and could not take the pay cut to stay in aviation (CFI or the regionals). Operations pays good at about 80k to well over 100k in you want to work overtime, great perks, health care, 401k with a 9% match. The down side is you will many weekends and afternoon or night shift for years. Due to living close to the plant (6 miles) my time away from home averages 8.4 hours per day and no long duty days that I get paid for less than half the time. Still have a part time CFI work and fly Angel flights every few weeks. Still have SJS but can't make it pay. Also have a coworker who was a C-J driver and lost his charter gig.