How often do you...

How often do you brief your airframe's go around profile/procedures during your approach briefings?

• Never

Votes: 21 27.3%
  • Rarely

Votes: 28 36.4%
  • Frequently

Votes: 13 16.9%
  • Always

Votes: 15 19.5%

• Total voters

surreal1221

Brief go-around procedures during your approach briefing?

Apologize guys for not being more specific, but I'm inquiring here to the call-outs of the actual go-around maneuver not the missed approach procedures listed on the chart.

No judgment, but it's a subject area that is seeing a lot of visibility within the safety community and I'm interested in the numbers here. I can honestly say that I may brief the missed approach procedure in the case of an instrument approach or my best guess as far as what Tower may have us do in the event of an issued go-around during a visual approach, but I have never briefed my company's Go-Around profile during an approach briefing. Yup, I'm a horrible pilot it seems. Oops.

To the best of my knowledge it isn't necessarily a hard and fast SOP at most organizations to brief the specifics of the Go-Around maneuver but due to certain loss of control accidents and incidents over recent years (not necessarily here in the United States) various safety organizations worldwide are focusing in on the ability of flight crews to successfully - manually - fly a go-around. Shocking, I know. I think.

So, that said...the poll is clearly anonymous and you're absolutely not required to do the following:

1) Participate

or

2) Share comments.

After reviewing some internal documents of a certain airline I see that its safety and flight training department have begun to encourage crews to incorporate the airframe's specific go-around profile discussion during the approach briefing. Ultimately knowing that a well briefed and well discussed approach briefing builds awareness and reduces confusion in the event a go-around is necessary.

Thanks.

Last edited: