How I ended up at Ari-ben

glenko

Just thought ide let everyone know why I chose Ari-Ben. First I recommend to tour all the flightschools you consider going to.

Toured Flightsafety and was completely sold. Have always wanted to go here but ultimately did not for a couple of reasons.
1.The fact ide have to wait up to one year or more to instruct. Once you are able to instruct unknown how many students you get and how many hours you get on a monthly basis. I am 34 years old and don’t have time to sit on my ass for so long.
2.The cost. I am a VA student so cost isn’t as much of an issue for me as someone else. That being said though when you factor in the cost of having to move somewhere else to instruct that’s a price I’m unwilling to pay. I don’t want to have to stay in the area and work at Home Depot to make ends meet. (nothing wrong with working there but not for me)
3.Not as much multi-time.
4.ASA pretty much dead now. Liked the program when it was going on and was a reason for me to attend FS.

Pan Am
Did not even check out other than driving by. After hearing about all there problems plus the fact many former students now attend Ari-Ben. The place sure looks nice and new. Plus the payments for all those nice new air-conditioned planes. Can you say out of control overhead? I heard they pay $ 60,000 a month just for rent to the airport. Who do you think pays for all that? Ari pays $6000 a month. Admitting Ari’s place is not pretty but who cares. It is functional and that is all that matters.

Comair
Took the tour and was not impressed. There was a kid just out of high school and his parents asked if college was important. They told them he could fly the RJ without having the degree. That may be true but I did not like the way he answered the question. He seemed very evasive the whole time and only told you what he wanted you to hear. Another reason not as much multi time. They kick you out after 800 hours as an instructor if you are not hired yet.

ATP