Finally getting started flying after working on them for 5 years.

Andrew_Neal

Got out of the Marines 6 months ago and moved to Birmingham to work full time in automotive manufacturing so I've been pretty busy... Right up the road I found a school that accepts the post 9/11 GI Bill for fixed wing and rotary flight schools.. AND they work with working adults. It's a 2 year program that takes you through private, commercial, instrument and CFI! I love fixed and helos equally but my background is 5 years as an avionics tech on bell H-1s so I'm a skid kid at heart. Not to mention fixed wing had a waiting list, so helos it is.

My first day of ground school is this evening from 6-9pm and every Thursday night until December, then I fly 2-3 times a week. I'm hoping I'll have a leg up since I've been in aviation for 5 years and already know how 99% of the electrical systems in helos work. My only downfall will be going from turbine mechanics to piston powered with a carb. Cant even begin to say how excited I am about this. I'd like to eventually do it as a career but I know it takes a while to get to 1500 hours so you can actually get a decently paid job. How long did it take some of y'all?

Andrew

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:
Congrats and good luck man! I thought about doing it years ago, but it was just too expensive after I had just gone to school for atc. I've always loved helo's and their versatility. Once I am sitting a little better financially I'm gonna take a discovery flight and see if it's as fun as it looks from the tower.