FBO vs College - I already have a degree!

Shiftace

s***posting with decency. trolling with integrity.
Greetings!

I have a bachelors degree in Software Engineering from a University in West Michigan. I have always been interested in flying and plan to start my flying at the end of the year! Am looking to get up to CFII rating atleast! However I have a few questions for some of the members on this board!

However I am not sure whether I should go the FBO route or go back to University and get a second degree and doing my flying at a place like SOSU, UND etc. I am strapped for cash and will most likely be taking out more loans to pay for this. Do any universities have a masters program in flight? What is approximate cost for getting a second degree (hopefully gen ed classes and the like are transferred over!). Will it just be cheaper to go to a local FBO and get the ratings done?

Look forward to your thoughts and feedback!

Cheers

Sunny

Save your cash and go the FBO route. You're just wasting your money and end up taking FAR too long to get your ratings. There is no positive way to make the cost/benefit analysis of the second degree work for you. Pay as you go and avoid the loans altogether. That way if you get half way though your private and decide this isn't for you then you're out only what you've paid instead of what you borrowed.

Totally agree with the FBO route. Like the previous poster said, the cost/benefit analysis just doesn't work out. Sure, another degree might help you out somewhere down the road, but a collegiate aviation program will cost you a lot more money after you pay tuition, fees, etc. Cheapest way to get your certificates and ratings will be an FBO, and since you already have a degree, it just doesn't make sense to pay for another one if you're short on cash.