Emailing a resume

FlynRyan

I am currently working as a flight instructor at the same school that I got my ratings at. However I am starting to feel the need to leave and go work at a school closer to friends and family. What I was wondering is how should I go about contacting these schools that I could potentially work for? Should I call or email and find out if they are hiring first or should I just shoot them off a resume? If you guys think that I should just send a resume, how should I do it? As an attachment to an email with a quick tid bit about my interest in the body? Fax? Like I said I'm pretty clueless on this because after I finished all of my ratings, the school I was a student at hired me and gave me students the next day so any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

I think the best thing to do is go into the flight school you want to work for and talk to them directly (with a resume in hand). If they have a wesite, check that out too.

should I just shoot them off a resume?

That's probably the least effective thing you could do. As the previous poster said, the best thing is to walk in and try to talk to someone. That way you're a real person. The phone is the next best thing, you're almost a real person. A resume isn't a real person and can be easily slid under stack of paper on the desk to deal with "later" or just tossed.

As others have said, don't email it. Put forth some due diligence and walk it in-hand it to the person that can give you the job.

If you have to email...<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><o:p></o:p>
<o:p></o:p>
Not all email software work nicely with each other. A lot of time spent formatting and making sure all looks pretty on your screen could completely fall apart on the other end. Avoid unnecessary indentation and new paragraphs.<o:p></o:p>
Some places/people will not open attachments fearing a virus.<o:p></o:p>