Effect of multi time on hiring minimums

pscraig

I've heard from pilots and posts here and elsewhere that a significant amount of multi time can lower hiring minimums by some unspecified and variable amount. Anyone have any idea? 700TT with 550 multi getting competitive? I had some friends recently go to TSA and Lakes, all around 1200-1300 TT but maybe 200ME at most. As an MEI the majority of my time is multi, but I'm trying to decide when to begin applying at regionals and when my credentials are considered competitive.

I'm low on the totem pole, but I've been putting my resume out there for a couple of months now. I figure they'll eventually get tired of hearing me call to confirm receiving my resume and give me an interview. Besides, the more they see my name, the better my chances get.

Also, I can sit there and say I've been applying to their company for 5-6 months, updating them on the 2nd of every month once I finally do get called...of course, I'm still looking and have no job offers, but we'll see.

Good luck out there and I'll see you in the civilian world in October.
grin.gif

txpilot

Well I'm almost at 500TT and when I get there I'll have close to 450ME. With a lot of PIC XC (and PIC XC ME to boot) and several loooong trips in the book (2,600nm RT).

No one is banging down my door to hire me, though.
cool.gif

I would venture to say that without 1000TT you won't get looked at no matter how much multi you have. In this job market, airlines can stick to their guns on every minima ... from total to multi to requiring a college degree (see other threads!). It doesn't hurt to apply early (I have on many occasions) but don't necessarily expect to get a call.

Just get as much quality experience as you can ... multi, turbine, etc is so much the better ... but even if you're teaching in Cessnas, keep doing it as well as you can. The experience in your logbook will pay off down the road.

I could use an "Information Minister" when I take over Scottsdale.