Dispatching: How much math is involved?

cocochinz

I've been wanting a position in airplane dispatching for quite a while now and am planning on applying for Sheffield's program next year to get the FAA dispatcher license. I'm convinced that this is what I want to do for a living but I'm extremely anxious because my mathematics skills are very poor. I've never taken any calculus, physics, or engineering classes because I'm in the middle of obtaining a liberal arts degree, so I'm pretty much screwed if I fly myself out to take the program but am unable to follow it because of my lacking math skills. I'm more than willing to study up on whatever I need to before applying for the program and am planning on pre-studying for the ADX written exam (I heard that this section just requires rigorous memorization). If there's anyone who could give me some insight on how much math is involved in obtaining the FAA dispatching license/ actual dispatching, it would be so helpful. Thanks in advance!

It's a lot of basic math, adding, subtracting and dividing. The biggest part of the job is being able to make a decision under pressure and then sticking with the decision.

As far as the ADX goes I would recommend Sheppard Air, I think its like 80 bucks but its just memorization. Once your done with the ADX there isn't a whole lot that is applicable to daily dispatching.

You need to add fractions to find alternate minimums and must be able to do that fast at times. Other then that study up on weather (charts, theory, forecasts), regulations and how to read the MEL list.

If you have any other questions send me a PM

It's a lot of basic math, adding, subtracting and dividing. The biggest part of the job is being able to make a decision under pressure and then sticking with the decision.