DFW ATC Question

Macpilot

I am a corporate pilot starting school in texas at the L-3 Communication CTI school in September, it seems to look like a good place besides expensive. Just curious from the DFW area guys what the chances of me getting to stay in the area are? KDFW is my ultimate goal but i certiantly dont mind starting somewhere else in the area. Maybe Meacham, Love or Alliance.

Also would like to know about the pilots that become controllers, do they seem to be doing well with it?

Thanks in advance for any advice/ opinions.

Your chances are just as good as anyone elses honestly. It is a very tedious application process that takes forever. I wanted KDFW as well, I even told them I wanted Terminal options only, but I was picked for Houston Center. It's all a matter of their needs. Good luck to you and welcome to JC! There are lots of people on here with a ton of good information.

UTAMAV:bandit:

Within the Metroplex you have DFW, ZFW, D10, FTW, AFW, ADS, and DAL. Lots of places to work, lots of controllers.

Though I am not from Texas, the vast majority of my co-workers are - including many, many new hires.

Even though you are starting a CTI school, apply under the public announcements the agency puts out.

In regards to pilots that become controllers doing well; the answer you will receive may depend on if you're asking the dev (who is also a pilot) or the OJTI who has to struggle every day to beat the pilot out of them ;)