Could use some help!

Konnor

Hey everyone, I hope this is the right spot to post this but anyways I am in a tricky spot right now in my life and could use some advice. As of right now I am a Freshman in college just completing my first semester. I am at Southern Illinois University Carbondale studying Computer Science as of right now. However I want to change majors to aviation. I originally was going to attend SIU for aviation but then thought otherwise because of costs of flight time and such. I like Computer Science but I want nothing more than to be in a plane. I don't have any licenses yet because my parents refused to pay for it when I was around 16. I know they wont be happy if I switch to aviation because they think it cost too much and I would be in debt for too long. Now saying I do switch to aviation, do I stay at SIU or transfer somewhere else? (I live in Illinois so get in-state at SIU, around 28k just for in-state not including flight costs) The reason I ask to transfer is could I get some place cheaper to fly I am not sure. Thank you all for your time.

If aviation is what you want good...just don't jump into it 100%, right away. It's expensive and a degree in it is not very marketable. Now, with a degree from an aviation school means less time to get hired at a regional, if your instructoring it's a few months of extra work, but you will save in the costs. Your parents paying the bills right now? If yes, stay with your current major and work and go fly for fun, and then work all summer and fly, I bet by the time you leave is 4/5 years, you will have your commercial single and your CFI will be super cheap to barrow for and then go instruct, and many places will pay for your MEI and CFII.