Cirrus SR-22

flyitup

Hey guys…

My mother, who is a nurse, recently took a job in Labor & Delivery and she met a Doctor who turns out to be an instrument rated private pilot as well. After talking with him, she found out that he currently owns an RV-8, but he’s in the process of buying a Cirrus SR-22. Anyway, my mother, of course, told him that I was a pilot working on my instrument rating. From what I gather he only fly’s for recreational purposes and really doesn’t have anyone to fly with. He said he would be interested in flying with me once he got his new plane. (we can’t fit in the RV that he currently has)

While I’m not holding my breath, I think this could be an excellent opportunity for me to build some hours for cheap and possibly even free!

Is anyone familiar with the SR-22?

I'm not familiar with it, but I've read several articles about it. It's one fine plane ...great handling, great performances (310hp engine) and the cockpit ...well you've got to see it to believe it! It even comes with the CAPS (Cirrus Airframe Parachute System) for a "little" extra.

I've seen the parachute system in action on Discovery Wings channel - it's really neat. Nice plane - low price/running costs and it's fast.

I'd stay away from stalling the aircraft until some of the recent accidents involving stalls are full analyzed. Besides that, SWEET airplane!

[ QUOTE ]
Nice plane - low price/running costs and it's fast.

[/ QUOTE ]

I just looked at the Cirrus website, and depending on your definition of "low running costs" it may be either high or low.

It burns about 18gph with a 6 cylinder engine and costs around $300,000 new. That's pretty expensive for a single, especially when you compare it to a 172, but it does cruise at 180kts... so at least you’re getting some pretty good speed for your money...

I guess when you compare those operating cost to that of a twin, which may actually cruise slower than the R-22, it’s not all that bad…

[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]