Blah Blah Mumbo Jumbo

Vne247

Well, I'm a recent CFI graduate who decided not to stick around and sit in the CFI pool. After visiting all the local airports and damn near being laughed at, I'm starting to question my decision to not stick around Vero. Monday morning I'm hitting the Sunday paper with a vengance, to find any job that will have me!!!!!!!!!!! Anyone have any ideas? Doug, I'm in the Valley, so if you have any leads please speak!!!!!! I just discussed it with a cactus and he told me to get some sleep, I'm gonna listen to him!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
grin.gif

That's an interesting decision you made of not wanting to be in the CFI pool, especially these days. Heck, almost all the hiring by airlines these days puts you in a pool to await classes. At least it means you're closer to the job than everyone else. Good luck with the search

To get hired by a regional you need somewhere between 1200 to 1500 hours (best case). So if you get your CFI and get on the list, then find a job instructing anywhere, you could get needed hours while waiting to be called back. The contract term at FSI is for 800 hours Dual Given. Add that to your roughly 250 coming out of CIME and you still need 200 to 500 more hours to be marketable.
So yes the waiting list is inconvenient, if you plan right, it shouldn't effect the time it takes you to get your hours by that much - assuming you don't go work at Walmart while waiting on the list.
Good luck looking for a job. I'm assuming you're a CFI and looking for an instructor position. They are out there, you just have to keep hammering away.