Basics and Stuff...(CFI study and an immediate lesson)

killbilly

Vocals, Lyrics, Triangle, Washboard, Kittens
Some of you know that I'm studying for the CFI and now the rest of you do, too.

In studying the material, I am realizing how many things I initially learned in PPL and promptly forgot or got so rusty on that I'm having to re-learn. (Pilotage? Ded reckoning?)

Like solving problems with the E6B. Or turns across a road. Properly squared-off patterns.

Executing these things is one thing, but knowing them well enough to teach is quite another. I am finally realizing why so many people tell you how much you will learn in your first hundred hours of instructing. It's because you don't really know something unless you can teach it effectively.

I knew this in an abstract sense, but it's hitting hard how much I thought I knew well and didn't.

And I'm enjoying the process because I feel like I'm moving to a next-level in terms of knowledge and ultimately becoming a better pilot as a result. It helps that I like teaching anyway.

So - bit of advice for those of you working on your PPL or IR right now: Don't let those basics get rusty! Stay sharp on that stuff especially after your IR, because the Commercial is really just an extension of the PPL, and the CFI seems to really be about taking all that stuff you learned and coherently passing it on.

It all starts in the beginning. And it matters.

This has been your obvious dose of obviousness from Team Billy HQ.

Try teaching something to your wife. The required increase in detail (skipping the absolute basic stuff) will get you going down the right road.
Tell me how to tie a neck tie. Now tell me how to do it while sitting on your hands.
Ya know, that stuff.

I first saw a manual e6b at CFI school. Made sure I knew how to use it, but wasn't a big issue. That whole lesson where you teach flight planning to students is a really critical one.

Alex.