Attending MTSU Fall 2010

MTSU_pilot

I will be attending MTSU this Fall and I am looking for any tips from previous or current students. I am a private pilot with 90 hours. I have some experience in the Diamond aircraft now that I am also working at a Diamond Flight Center here in Georgia. I read some where about submitting a form so that I could get a flight lab in the Fall because I have heard that most freshmen do not fly first semester even if they have a private pilot rating. Any advice or opinions on groups to join or things to prepare would be helpful. I can't wait to attend MTSU. GO BLUE RAIDERS!!!!

There are a few of us here on JC that went to MTSU and have gone throught the flight program there.

It is a great program with A LOT of resources! Personally I know there are FRASCA sims, multi sims, G-1000 sims and a 727 sim.

The chief pilot Mr. Mosey is a cool character once you get to know him.

I don't really know if you can get a lab or not the first semester but I do know recently they haven't had many students. This can be a benefit to you.

WELCOME to Jet Careers!

I'm a current flight student at MTSU so if you have any questions feel free to ask! The program is doing great right now, we recently added some more DA-40's to the fleet and I think we are up to 19 total. Of those all except 4 or 5 are G1000 equipped with Garmin's new synthetic vision package.

The college operates its training through "flight labs". Each semester, students must submit a flight lab application to the flight school (the flight school does its own thing independent of campus). The flight labs are awarded based on GPA, so I'm not sure how it would work for a fresh incoming student. I know MTSU tends to discourage freshman flying in the first semester, but I also have heard of several students who turned in their flight lab applications and got a fall slot. I guess you could give it a shot and see what happens!