Age 51 and training - too late to set sights on a legacy career?

jupiter87135

Hi folks,

I started training for private pilot license this last July with a part 61 school (Cessna 172, Piper Archer). I just turned age 51 a few days ago.

Question: Am I too old to realistically have as a goal making it to a legacy/mainline carrier? Would it be more realistic to think I could make it to a regional, and likely stay there for the duration of a potential career? I have two bachelors degrees from years ago, so college degree is not an issue, but I’m wondering, given the time it takes to build the hours for the regionals, and even more so for the majors, is it realistic to think that I could have a worthwhile career, and even more so would I ever have a chance of making it to the majors?

Thanks for any advice that any of you can provide.

Cheers!!

AAPalmTree and Autothrust Blue, thanks for your replies! I also got the first class medical (with ECG)...wanted to make sure that wasn’t an issue before starting. The financial situation is such that it would be fine to be at a regional. But it would be even finer to make it to a major/legacy company. Just trying to gauge how realistic that aspiration is at my age.

I hate to be a Debbie Downer here but just starting at square one in aviation at age 51 and hoping for a Legcy is probably pushing it. This massive hiring is gonna end eventually and we are one economic hiccup from massive furloughs. That’s just the nature of the beast and has been in my 40 yrs in aviation.

I think more realistically you could make it to a Regional carrier and possibly someplace like Amazon or Atlas for some heavy jet time if that’s interest you. Unless the mandatory retirement age gets raised again (and it will) you’ll probably time out age wise before you could make a worthwhile career dent at a Legacy.

Hopefully you’ll be able to prove me wrong. My wife tells me I’m wrong all the time!