38 and thinking of a change

AmazonChitlin

Hey all,

Before I get into the main part of my post, I wanted to give a little of my background so that you have an idea of where I'm coming from. I come from a line of aviators. Both of my grandfathers were bomber pilots in WW2 (B24's and B25's). My father was a pilot, though stopped flying after he earned his PPL. I currently have my PPL, and ~250 hours. I have tailwheel and high performance endorsements. I got up to being about ready for the IFR checkride, but stopped due to me being uncomfortable with the amount of time I was able to dedicate to study due to work. I'm also a certified tower operator, and have some military GCA ratings. I've since left the Army and have gone into law enforcement. Since I've been in law enforcement, I've gotten my drone operator license. I do have a current first class medical.

Besides aviation, I have just gotten married (and she came with two kids), and we are looking to buy a bigger house.

What I'd like to do is pursue a career in aviation. What I'd really like is to stay in LE and fly for a department so that I could keep my retirement (that I'll soon be vested in) and other benefits. That of course requires me to obtain the rest of my ratings (to include an ATP). I'd also always be willing to keep my eyes open for other opportunities.

I am eligible to receive the GI Bill, and plan on using it for any more flight training. The issue I'm encountering though are the following:

• The GI Bill reimburses your training costs up to $12,554.54 a year. The key word is reimburse. For those that have used the GI Bill, how'd you front the money? Did you take out loans, or skrimp and save?
  • I work 4x 10hr shifts per week. That would normally leave me 3 days that I could dedicate to training, however right now I'm working nights, and the first day off is typically spent sleeping.