To PEPC or not to PEPC

Guire

Hiya. Could those more familiar with the PEPC and non-PEPC processes fill me in on the pros and cons of both. I'm considering the non-PEPC route, but if it turns out to be more trouble than it's worth (I understand doing the local interview is a longer process most of the time), I'll be more than happy to go the PEPC path. Thanks!

EDIT: Whoops, posted in wrong forum. Thought this was the Application process thread. If it's bothersome, could those who can move it? Sorry for the inconvenience!

I think the PEPC process is the one of the greatest ideas the FAA has come up with. I have a friend I graduated with from a CTI school who opted not to go the PEPC route, but wanted to do the local interview and do the security and medical exams separate.

He has not heard from the FAA since he was informed he's being tentatively selected for Denver ARTCC. No one contacted him for a local interview, and the security background screening is the longest process by far. That part could take several weeks (friends, co-workers, etc. receiving their forms that they need to submit).

I went to the Memphis PEPC in late-July and just recently I was given my OKC class date for January. If it's taking this long for me since the PEPC, I can't imagine when my friend will start training in OK.

I recommend the PEPC if you can take a few days out of your schedule to go to one. Good luck!

I would recommend going to a PEPC, especially if you are within driving distances of one.

I opted for the non-PEPC because I had a skeleton in my closet and I knew that my process would take longer than the normal Joe. Like others have said if you can make it out to one go. More than likely you will leave there with TOL in hand. My process from notification of an interview to receipt of my FOL 7 months.